California alternative route
University Intern Program
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 2
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Grade or subject limits
Multiple Subject Teaching Credential authorizes individuals to teach a variety of subjects in a self-contained classroom in preschool, transitional kindergarten, kindergarten, grades 1 through 12, and classes organized primarily for adults.
Single Subject Teaching Credential authorizes public school teaching in a departmentalized classroom in preschool, transitional kindergarten, kindergarten, grades 1 through 12, and classes organized primarily for adults. A Single Subject Teaching Credential authorizes an individual to teach in one of the specific content areas such as Agriculture, Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Dance, World Languages, General Science, Geoscience, Health Science, Home Economics, Industrial and Technology Education, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education, Physics, Social Science, and Theatre.
The Education Specialist Instruction Credential authorizes individuals to teach students with disabilities. This credential is separated into five distinct authorizations: Mild to Moderate Support Needs, Extensive Support Needs, Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Visual Impairments, and Early Childhood Special Education.
Shortage design
Mathematics, Science, Special Education
Credential issued
An Internship Credential is issued to candidates who are in the University Intern Program, a restricted credential for use with one approved program and a specific employer.
Clinical experience
University intern programs provide one- or two-year internships leading to basic teaching credentials, specialist teaching credentials, and/or service credentials. University intern programs must meet the same standards of program quality and effectiveness as traditional university teacher preparation programs. School districts and county offices of education collaborate with local universities in the planning and implementation of professional instruction, support, supervision, and assessment of interns.
In December 2007, the Commission took action to require confirmation that Multiple Subject, Single Subject, and Education Specialist interns completed 120 clock hours (or the semester and quarter unit equivalent) of initial teacher preparation prior to issuance of an Intern credential. This pre-service component must include foundational preparation in pedagogy, including classroom management and planning, reading/language arts, content- specific pedagogy, human development, and teaching English learners.
At its April 2013 meeting, the Commission took action to identify the range of content that is required to be included in the preservice portion of the Intern program related to the teaching of English learners. The content is a subset of the Commission’s program standard addressing the teaching of English learners, which must be addressed comprehensively in the full Intern program.
In addition, the Commission acted in 2014 to enhance the support and supervision provided to interns. Regulations took effect April 1, 2014, mandating that all interns be provided with an annual minimum of 144 hours of general support and supervision and 45 hours of support and supervision specific to teaching English learners (California Code of Regulations §80033).
California statues allow qualified individuals to become Multiple and Single Subject teachers through an Early Completion Option (ECO). Within this option, candidates who successfully complete a Commission-approved teaching foundations exam in their field, which includes teaching methods, learning development, diagnosis and intervention, classroom management and reading instruction (currently the National Evaluation Series (NES) Assessment of Professional Knowledge) and pass the Teaching Performance Assessment in their first attempt within the academic year may be granted an initial credential. Under SB 57, credential candidates still need to meet the existing legislated requirements of a bachelor’s degree, subject matter competence, U.S. Constitution, computer technology, basic skills, and character fitness to qualify for a credential. Those seeking the Multiple Subjects credential through the Early Completion Option also need to pass the RICA.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Alliant International University Alternative, IHE-based
- Azusa Pacific University Alternative, IHE-based
- Biola University Alternative, IHE-based
- CA State Polytechnic Univ.-Pomona Alternative, IHE-based
- California Baptist University Alternative, IHE-based
- California Lutheran University Alternative, IHE-based
- CALState Teach Alternative, IHE-based
- Chapman University Alternative, IHE-based
- Claremont Graduate University Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Bakersfield Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Channel Islands Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Chico Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Dominguez Hills Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU East Bay Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Fresno Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Fullerton Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Long Beach Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Los Angeles Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Monterey Bay Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Northridge Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Sacramento Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU San Bernardino Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU San Marcos Alternative, IHE-based
- CSU Stanislaus Alternative, IHE-based
- Dominican University of California Alternative, IHE-based
- Fresno Pacific University Alternative, IHE-based
- Humboldt State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Humphreys University Alternative, IHE-based
- La Sierra University Alternative, IHE-based
- Los Angeles Pacific University Alternative, IHE-based
- Loyola Marymount University Alternative, IHE-based
- Mount Saint Mary's University Alternative, IHE-based
- National University Alternative, IHE-based
- Notre Dame de Namur University Alternative, IHE-based
- Pacific Oaks College Alternative, IHE-based
- Pepperdine University Alternative, IHE-based
- Point Loma Nazarene University Alternative, IHE-based
- Saint Mary's College of California Alternative, IHE-based
- San Diego State University Alternative, IHE-based
- San Francisco State University Alternative, IHE-based
- San Jose State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Santa Clara University Alternative, IHE-based
- Simpson University Alternative, IHE-based
- Sonoma State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Teachers College of San Joaquin Alternative, IHE-based
- The Academy of Art University Alternative, IHE-based
- Touro University Alternative, IHE-based
- UC Merced Alternative, IHE-based
- UC Riverside Alternative, IHE-based
- UC San Diego Alternative, IHE-based
- United States University Alternative, IHE-based
- University of LaVerne Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Massachusetts Global Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Phoenix Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Redlands Alternative, IHE-based
- University of San Diego Alternative, IHE-based
- University of San Francisco Alternative, IHE-based
- University of the Pacific Alternative, IHE-based
- Whittier College Alternative, IHE-based