South Carolina alternative route
University of South Carolina- Carolina Collaborative for Alternative Preparation (Carolina CAP)
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with South Carolina Department of Education.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
Current areas subject to University of South Carolina- Carolina Collaborative for Alternative Preparation (Carolina CAP) certification may be found at:
https://ed.sc.gov/educators/alternative-certification/ccap/
Credential issued
An Alternative Route certificate is issued until all requirements are met to move to a professional license.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- University of South Carolina Columbia Traditional