South Carolina alternative route
Teach Charleston
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with South Carolina Department of Education.
- Run by
- School district
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
Current areas subject to Teach Charleston certification may be found at:
https://ed.sc.gov/educators/alternative-certification/teachcharleston/
Credential issued
An Alternative Route certificate is issued until all requirements are met to move to a professional license.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.
Other routes in South Carolina
- American Board
- Columbia College Alternative Pathways to Educator Certification (APEC)
- Converse College Alternative Certification- Art Education
- Greenville Alternative Teacher Education (GATE)
- PACE - Program of Alternative Certification for Educators
- Teach for America
- Teachers of Tomorrow
- University of South Carolina- Carolina Collaborative for Alternative Preparation (Carolina CAP)