South Carolina alternative route
Teach for America
- Run by
- Other
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Shortage design
The State Board of Education set a limit in certain areas. The number of TFA Corp Members in early childhood education or elementary education may not exceed 30 percent of the total number of TFA teachers employed in the State during a given academic year. The number of TFA Corp Members in special education may not exceed 20 percent of the total number of TFA teachers employed in the State during a given academic year. The goal is to provide math and science teachers to rural schools.
Credential issued
TFA Corp members who complete the application process, pass the state required content examination(s), complete the initial TFA training, and secure employment are issued a one-year alternative route certificate.
Clinical experience
The candidate completes the equivalent of a traditional supervised clinical experience while employed during a three year induction/formal evaluation period.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.
Other routes in South Carolina
- American Board
- Columbia College Alternative Pathways to Educator Certification (APEC)
- Converse College Alternative Certification- Art Education
- Greenville Alternative Teacher Education (GATE)
- PACE - Program of Alternative Certification for Educators
- Teach Charleston
- Teachers of Tomorrow
- University of South Carolina- Carolina Collaborative for Alternative Preparation (Carolina CAP)