South Carolina alternative route
PACE - Program of Alternative Certification for Educators
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Grade or subject limits
Current areas subject to PACE certification may be found at:
https://ed.sc.gov/educators/alternative-certification/pace/
Shortage design
When originally approved, the alternative route was limited to two critical areas (science and math). Over the years, the list of approved areas grew to the point that the State Board determined that all areas with an approved major equivalency would be considered critical for purposes of PACE. Therefore, PACE is now considered more of an alternative route in those specific areas rather than a critical need program.
Credential issued
A teaching license is issued to individuals who meet all admission criteria, who have secured employment in a South Carolina public school, and who have successfully completed the pre-service training. The certificate is renewed based on continued progress in the training program.
Clinical experience
The candidate completes the equivalent of a traditional supervised clinical experience while employed during a three year induction/formal evaluation period.
Other requirements
PACE requires a bachelor’s or master’s degree in the content area an individual intends to teach. If an applicant does not have the degree posted on their transcript, they will be evaluated for an equivalent degree based on 30 undergraduate hours in the content area with 21 hours at the junior level or higher or 24 graduate hours in the content area. Courses that are not clearly in the content area must be evaluated by the appropriate department chair at a regionally accredited higher education institution.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.
Other routes in South Carolina
- American Board
- Columbia College Alternative Pathways to Educator Certification (APEC)
- Converse College Alternative Certification- Art Education
- Greenville Alternative Teacher Education (GATE)
- Teach Charleston
- Teach for America
- Teachers of Tomorrow
- University of South Carolina- Carolina Collaborative for Alternative Preparation (Carolina CAP)