Minnesota alternative route
Nonconventional Teacher Preparation Program
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with MN Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- Not reported
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | No |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Not reported |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
Nonconventional programs must meet the same licensure requirements and standards as conventional programs.
Clinical experience
The provider can defend hours and weeks that vary from state requirements, but some level of supervised clinical experience would be required.
Other requirements
Must submit an application to the state justifying any requests for waivers of board rule, be reviewed by a Program Review Panel, and approved by the Board of Teaching.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Augsburg College Traditional
- Bemidji State University Traditional
- Gustavus Adolphus College Traditional
- Metropolitan State University Traditional
- Minnesota State-Mankato Traditional
- Southwest Minnesota State University Traditional
- St. Cloud State University Traditional
- University of Minnesota Duluth Traditional
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities Traditional
- University of St. Thomas Traditional
- Winona State University Traditional