Idaho alternative route
Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Certification
- Run by
- College or university, School district
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Shortage design
Alternative authorization - Teacher to New Certificate allows a local education agency to request certification for a candidate. This authorization grants an interim certificate that allows individuals to serve as the teacher of record while pursuing standard certification.
Credential issued
Alternative authorization allows a local education agency to request certification for a candidate. This authorization grants an interim certificate that allows individuals to serve as the teacher of record while pursuing standard certification.
Clinical experience
Supervised clinical experience or mentoring is a required component.
Other requirements
Alternative Authorization -- Teacher to New Certification.
This alternative authorization allows a local education agency to request additional certification for a candidate who already holds a current Idaho certificate in good standing to add an additional type of certificate in a new certification area.
a. Prior to application, the candidate must hold a baccalaureate degree or higher and a current and
valid Idaho certificate. The local education agency must attest to the candidate’s ability to fill the position.
b. The candidate must participate in a state board- approved educator preparation program.
i. The candidate will work toward completion of a state board-approved educator preparation
program. The candidate must complete a minimum of nine (9) semester credits annually to maintain continued eligibility for the interim certificate; and
ii. The participating educator preparation program shall provide procedures to assess and credit
equivalent knowledge, dispositions, and relevant life/work experiences toward program completion requirements.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Boise State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Brigham Young University Idaho Traditional
- Idaho State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Lewis-Clark State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Northwest Nazarene University Alternative, IHE-based
- The College of Idaho Traditional
- University of Idaho Traditional