ID certification
Idaho teacher certification
Teaching credentials in Idaho
Each row is a credential Idaho reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alternative Authorization - Content Specialist | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
| Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Certificate | No | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
| Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Endorsement | No | 1 | Yes | PK-6, 6-9, 6-12 |
| American Indian Tribal Language Certificate | Yes | 5 | Yes | K-6, 6-9, 6-12 |
| Emergency Provisional Authorization | Yes | 1 | Yes | K-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
| Interim Certificate - Out of State | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
| Junior ROTC Instructor certificate | Yes | 5 | Yes | 6-9, 9-12 |
| Limited Occupational Specialist Certificate | Yes | 3 | No | 6-9, 6-12 |
| Non-Traditional Route to Teacher Certification | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
| Occupational Specialist Certificate | Yes | 5 | Yes | 6-9, 6-12 |
| Postsecondary Specialist | Yes | 5 | Yes | 6-9, 6-12 |
| Standard Instructional Certificate | Yes | 5 | Yes | PK-8, 5-9, 6-12 |
Requirements
Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.
| Credential | Bachelor's | Master's | Education degree | Prep program | Tests | Performance assessment | Clinical | Coursework | Credit hours | Min. GPA | Transcripts | Employment | Mentoring | Recency | Background check | Fingerprint | Police check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alternative Authorization - Content Specialist | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Certificate | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Endorsement | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| American Indian Tribal Language Certificate | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Emergency Provisional Authorization | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Interim Certificate - Out of State | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Junior ROTC Instructor certificate | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Limited Occupational Specialist Certificate | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Non-Traditional Route to Teacher Certification | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Occupational Specialist Certificate | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Postsecondary Specialist | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Standard Instructional Certificate | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Verify a teaching license in Idaho
Teaching licenses in Idaho are verified on the lookup service run by Office of the State Board of Education. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.
PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.
Renewal
Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.
| Credential | Renewable | Renew times | Renewal years | Details |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alternative Authorization - Content Specialist | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Certificate | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Endorsement | Yes | 2 | 1 | This alternative authorization allows a local education agency to request additional endorsement for a candidate. This authorization is valid for one (1) year and may be renewed for two (2) additional years with evidence of satisfactory progress. |
| American Indian Tribal Language Certificate | Yes | 99 | 5 | Not reported |
| Emergency Provisional Authorization | Yes | 1 | 1 | The local education agency must declare another emergency year exists and submit another application to the Idaho Department of Education for Idaho State Board of Education approval. |
| Interim Certificate - Out of State | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Junior ROTC Instructor certificate | Yes | 99 | 5 | Not reported |
| Limited Occupational Specialist Certificate | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Non-Traditional Route to Teacher Certification | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Occupational Specialist Certificate | Yes | 99 | 5 | All certificated personnel are required to complete at least six (6) semester credit hours or the equivalent within the five (5)-year period of validity of the certificate being renewed. Credits taken for recertification/renewal must be educationally related to the professional development of the applicant. They must also be specifically tied to content areas and/or an area of other endorsement, or be specific to pedagogical best practices for administrative/teacher leadership, or be tied to a specific area of need designated by district administration. At least three (3) semester credits must be taken for university or college credit. In-service hours may be used by Idaho educators who hold a current Idaho teaching certificate as a substitute for up to three (3) of the six (6) semester credit hours required for certificate renewal. Fifteen (15) contact hours are equivalent to one (1) in-service hour. Continuing Education Units verified only by a CEU transcript or certificate cannot be accepted. However, if training that earned CEUs is signed off on an Idaho District Inservice Form, those clock hours may be accepted. Transcripts must be provided upon request to verify the recertification/renewal credits completed through an accredited college or university. |
| Postsecondary Specialist | Yes | 99 | 5 | A renewal application, accompanied by a new written recommendation from the postsecondary institution where the individual is employed. The recommendation must come from the dean (or higher) level of the college/department in which the individual is employed. |
| Standard Instructional Certificate | Yes | 99 | 5 | All certificated personnel are required to complete at least six (6) semester credit hours or the equivalent within the five (5)-year period of validity of the certificate being renewed. Credits taken for recertification/renewal must be educationally related to the professional development of the applicant. They must also be specifically tied to content areas and/or an area of other endorsement, or be specific to pedagogical best practices for administrative/teacher leadership, or be tied to a specific area of need designated by district administration. At least three (3) semester credits must be taken for university or college credit. In-service hours may be used by Idaho educators who hold a current Idaho teaching certificate as a substitute for up to three (3) of the six (6) semester credit hours required for certificate renewal. Fifteen (15) contact hours are equivalent to one (1) in-service hour. Continuing Education Units verified only by a CEU transcript or certificate cannot be accepted. However, if training that earned CEUs is signed off on an Idaho District Inservice Form, those clock hours may be accepted. Transcripts must be provided to verify the recertification/renewal credits completed through an accredited college or university. |
Emergency and temporary credentials
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emergency Provisional Authorization | Yes | 1 | Yes | K-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
Out-of-state teachers
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interim Certificate - Out of State | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-9, 6-12 |
Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 786.
Alternative routes
- Alternative Authorization - Content Specialist (teach while completing)
- Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Certification (teach while completing)
- Alternative Authorization - Teacher to New Endorsement (teach while completing)
- Non-Traditional Route to Teacher Certification (teach while completing)
How to become a teacher in IdahoIdaho teacher preparation providers
Frequently asked questions
How do I get a teaching certificate in Idaho?
Idaho reports 12 credentials to Title II, 10 of them initial. 5 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 3 require a preparation program and 3 require tests. Apply through Office of the State Board of Education.
How do I verify a teaching license in Idaho?
Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Office of the State Board of Education. PT3 does not verify licenses.
Can I renew a Idaho teaching certificate?
7 of 12 Idaho credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.
Does Idaho issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?
Yes. Title II lists 1: Emergency Provisional Authorization.
Can I teach in Idaho with an out-of-state license?
Idaho lists 1 credential for out-of-state teachers: Interim Certificate - Out of State.
Is there alternative teacher certification in Idaho?
Yes. Idaho reports 4 alternative routes to Title II.