Skip to content
PT3

Arkansas alternative route

M.Ed. University of Arkansas - Little Rock

Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Arkansas Department of Education.
Run by
College or university
Teach while completing
Yes
Max years to complete
2
Website
Visit

Requirements

Bachelor's degreeYes
Bachelor's in the subjectYes
Pedagogy courseworkYes
Credit hoursYes
Minimum GPAYes
TestsYes
Employment as a teacherNo
Clinical experienceYes
Professional developmentYes
MentoringYes
Service requirementNo
High-need schoolsNot reported
Shortage areasNot reported
Limited to some grades or subjectsYes
Designed for shortage areasYes

Grade or subject limits

Middle childhood, secondary subjects, broad range, and special education are allowed.

Shortage design

As for teacher licensure test requirements, here are a few links you'll find handy:

 

Required Arkansas tests: https://www.ets.org/praxis/ar/requirements

Test dates and centers (searchable): https://www.ets.org/praxis/register/centers_dates?WT.ac=praxishome_centersdates_121126

Test fees at a glance: https://www.ets.org/praxis/about/fees

Frequently Asked Questions: https://www.ets.org/praxis/faq_test_takers/

Credential issued

A provisional license is issued to allow participants to teach while enrolled in the program.

Clinical experience

If a participant is not employed as a teacher while in the program, he or she will participate in a supervised clinical experience.

Other requirements

Six credit-hours of teaching reading courses are required for middle childhood licensure programs.

Linked teacher preparation providers

Other routes in Arkansas