Arkansas alternative route
Arkansas Teacher Corps
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Arkansas Department of Education.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
Middle Childhood and secondary subjects are allowed. Placement of teachers in K-6 may be utilized only in extreme circumstances.
Credential issued
A provisional license is issued to allow participants to teach while enrolled in the program.
Other requirements
ATC accepts candidates with at least a Bachelor's degree and a 2.75 GPA or higher. GPA exceptions made for graduate work over undergraduate GPA for strong applicants who are still able to pass the Praxis test. Applicants are scored based on the information provided throughout the application period and approximately the top 30 applicants are admitted.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- University of Arkansas Fayetteville Traditional
Other routes in Arkansas
- American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (ABCTE)
- Arkansas Professional Educator Pathway (ArPEP)
- eStem
- M.A.T. Arkansas State University
- M.A.T. Arkansas Tech University
- M.A.T. Harding University
- M.A.T. Henderson State University
- M.A.T. John Brown University
- M.A.T. Southern Arkansas University
- M.A.T. University of Arkansas - Monticello
- M.A.T. University of Arkansas - Pine Bluff
- M.A.T. University of Central Arkansas
- M.A.T. Williams Baptist University
- M.Ed. University of Arkansas - Little Rock
- Teach for America