Skip to content
PT3

Arkansas alternative route

M.A.T. Henderson State University

Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Arkansas Department of Education.
Run by
College or university
Teach while completing
Yes
Max years to complete
2
Website
Visit

Requirements

Bachelor's degreeYes
Bachelor's in the subjectYes
Pedagogy courseworkYes
Credit hoursYes
Minimum GPAYes
TestsYes
Employment as a teacherYes
Clinical experienceYes
Professional developmentYes
MentoringYes
Service requirementNo
High-need schoolsNot reported
Shortage areasNot reported
Limited to some grades or subjectsYes
Designed for shortage areasYes

Grade or subject limits

Elementary, middle childhood, secondary subjects, K-12, 4-12, early childhood special education (birth-kindergarten), and special education are allowed.

Shortage design

Art

Chemistry

Computer Science

English/Language Arts

Family & Consumer Science

French

Journalism

Library/Media

Mathematics

Middle Childhood

Music

Physics

Social Studies

Spanish

Special Education

Credential issued

A provisional license is issued to allow participants to teach while enrolled in the program.

Clinical experience

MAT candidates’ field experiences include at least one full year of employment as a teacher of record or at least one full year of internship in a classroom reflecting the candidate's area of licensure. Teachers and interns are supervised by a Pathwise-trained mentor teacher assigned by their school as well as university supervisors. Both clinical and content observations take place throughout the program. Clinical visits may be conducted by the program coordinator or faculty members within Teachers College. Content visits are typically conducted by university faculty with expertise in that content area. Candidates complete at least three clinical observations and at least three content observations throughout the program. Official credit for field experiences is granted through a six-hour credit course, EDU 6166 Directed Field Experiences, usually taken the last spring of a candidate’s two-year program.

Linked teacher preparation providers

Other routes in Arkansas