Skip to content
PT3

Virginia

Special Education teacher preparation programs in Virginia

28 Title II providers in Virginia report special education programs or completers.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Virginia Department of Education.

Providers

ProviderProgram typesSubject completers
Liberty UniversityTraditional117
George Mason UniversityTraditional80
James Madison UniversityTraditional47
Old Dominion UniversityTraditional; Alternative, IHE-based41
Virginia Commonwealth UniversityTraditional; Alternative, IHE-based31
Longwood UniversityTraditional29
University of VirginiaTraditional28
Univ. of Mary Washington - COETraditional12
Radford UniversityTraditional11
College of William and MaryTraditional7
Norfolk State UniversityTraditional6
Regent UniversityTraditional; Alternative, IHE-based6
Virginia State UniversityTraditional6
Randolph-Macon CollegeTraditional5
Shenandoah UniversityTraditional; Alternative, IHE-based5
Emory & Henry CollegeTraditional3
Averett UniversityTraditional2
Mary Baldwin UniversityTraditional2
Marymount UniversityTraditional2
Virginia Wesleyan UniversityTraditional2
Bluefield UniversityTraditional1
Ferrum CollegeTraditional1
Randolph CollegeTraditional1
Sweet Briar CollegeTraditional0
Bridgewater CollegeTraditional0
Hampton UniversityTraditional0
Roanoke CollegeTraditional0
Virginia Community College SystemAlternative, not IHE-based0
Washington and Lee UniversityTraditional0
University of LynchburgTraditionalNot reported
University of RichmondTraditionalNot reported
University of Virginia at WiseTraditionalNot reported
Virginia Union UniversityTraditionalNot reported

Virginia teacher certificationHow to become a teacher in Virginia