Skip to content
PT3

KS certification

Kansas teacher certification

Kansas reports 17 teaching credentials and 4 alternative routes to Title II, and licensed 2,285 new teachers in the latest year.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Kansas State Department of Education.

Teaching credentials in Kansas

Each row is a credential Kansas reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.

Kansas credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Accomplished LicenseNo10YesK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Career and Technical Education (CTE) Specialized CertificateYes3Yes8-12
Full Technical CertificateNo5Yes8-12
Initial LicenseYes2YesK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Interim Alternative LicenseNo1YesK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Limited Elementary Residency LicenseYes2YesK-6
Limited Residency LicenseYes2NoK-6, 6-12
Limited Teacher Apprentice Program License (LTAP)Yes2NoK-6
Limited Use LicenseYes1Yes6-12
One Year Nonrenewable LicenseNo1NoK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Professional LicenseNo5YesK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Restricted LicenseNo1Yes5-8, 6-12
Restricted Technical CertificateYes2Yes9-12
STEM LicenseYes1Yes8-12
Transitional LicenseNo1NoK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Visiting International TeacherYes1YesPK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Visiting Scholar LicenseYes1Yes6-12

Requirements

Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.

CredentialBachelor'sMaster'sEducation degreePrep programTestsPerformance assessmentClinicalCourseworkCredit hoursMin. GPATranscriptsEmploymentMentoringRecencyBackground checkFingerprintPolice check
Accomplished LicenseYesNoNoYesYesYesNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesNo
Career and Technical Education (CTE) Specialized CertificateNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNo
Full Technical CertificateNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesNoNoNoYesYesYes
Initial LicenseYesNoNoYesYesYesYesNoNoNoYesNoYesYesYesYesNo
Interim Alternative LicenseYesNoNoYesYesYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesYesNo
Limited Elementary Residency LicenseYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesYes
Limited Residency LicenseYesNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoYesYesYesNoYesYesYes
Limited Teacher Apprentice Program License (LTAP)NoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Limited Use LicenseYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesYesYesNoYesYesYes
One Year Nonrenewable LicenseYesNoNoYesNoNoYesNoNoNoYesNoNoYesYesYesNo
Professional LicenseYesNoNoYesYesYesYesNoNoNoYesYesYesYesYesYesNo
Restricted LicenseYesNoNoYesYesYesYesNoNoYesNoYesYesNoYesYesNo
Restricted Technical CertificateNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoYesYesYesNoYesYesNo
STEM LicenseYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesNo
Transitional LicenseYesNoNoYesNoNoYesNoNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesNo
Visiting International TeacherYesNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesYes
Visiting Scholar LicenseYesYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesNo

Verify a teaching license in Kansas

Teaching licenses in Kansas are verified on the lookup service run by Kansas State Department of Education. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.

PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.

Renewal

Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.

Renewal
CredentialRenewableRenew timesRenewal yearsDetails
Accomplished LicenseYes9810Accomplished license may be renewed upon receipt of verification of achieving renewal of National Board Certification.
Career and Technical Education (CTE) Specialized CertificateYes993Credential is renewable by meeting the same requirements as needed for the first application. Credential renewal must be requested by the hiring district.
Full Technical CertificateYes995Application and processing fee. Under an approved individual development plan filed with a local professional development council AND completed within the term of the current full technical certificate: 1. A minimum of 160 professional development points including at least annual attendance at professional conferences in the technical education field is required. OR 2. If the applicant holds an advanced degree, verification of completion of 120 professional development points including at least annual attendance at professional conferences in the technical education field is required.
Initial LicenseYes982License holder may maintain the initial license by meeting the following options: Completion of professional development points, 160 including 80 points awarded for semester credit hours if I do not have an advanced degree OR 120 points if I have an advanced degree. OR Completion of eight semester hours of credit related to endorsements on the initial license or eight semester hours of credit that are part of an approved program to add a new teaching, school specialist or leadership endorsement. OR Completion of one year of recent accredited experience within last six years. OR Applicant has retaken the assessments required for the initial license within the past year. License holder may upgrade to professional license after completing the performance assessment required during the initial license. If not employed, the license holder may not upgrade to professional license but can renew initial license with the options above. License may be renewed within the regulations but is limited to a maximum of four years of accredited teaching experience under the initial license. During the first four years of accredited teaching experience, the initial license holder must complete the prescribed performance assessment successfully to upgrade to the professional license. If not employed, the initial license holder may continue to renew the initial license.
Interim Alternative LicenseYes11The Interim Alternative License may be renewed for one calendar year if appropriate progress is made towards the deficiencies present when applicant first applied.
Limited Elementary Residency LicenseYes11Adequate progress on program coursework. Verified continued employment.
Limited Residency LicenseNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Limited Teacher Apprentice Program License (LTAP)NoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Limited Use LicenseYes991Each limited-use teaching license shall be valid only for the school year in which the license is issued. Any limited-use teaching license may be reissued for additional consecutive school years at the request of the employing LEA.
One Year Nonrenewable LicenseNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Professional LicenseYes985If the applicant holds a graduate degree: Earn 120 professional development points awarded by a Kansas local professional development council under an approved individual development plan. If retired and participating in an educational retirement system, earn 60 professional development points OR If the applicant does not hold a graduate degree: Earn 160 professional development points awarded by a Kansas local professional development council under an approved individual development plan, including at least 80 points for college credit. If retired and participating in an educational retirement system, earn 80 professional development points, including at least 40 points for college credit. OR If completing a program to add a new teaching, school specialist or school leadership endorsement, apply eight semester credit hours of the approved program towards renewal. OR Verify three years of accredited experience during the current professional license IF the applicant holds a graduate degree. This type of experience renewal may be used only twice in the applicant’s career. OR Complete all components of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards assessment for National Board Certification.
Restricted LicenseYes21Kansas Restricted License may be renewed two times based on applicant making appropriate progress towards full licensure. Renewal is limited to total of three consecutive academic years.
Restricted Technical CertificateYes12Verification of completion of at least 50% of the applicant’s plan of study and verification of continued employment in the career and technical education pathway is required.
STEM LicenseYes991A STEM License is renewed by meeting the same requirements as needed for the first application. The license is renewable with application and verification of continuing employment.
Transitional LicenseNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visiting International TeacherYes41The visiting international teacher license may be renewed for a maximum of four additional school years if the licensee continues to participate in the visiting international teacher program, the district will continue to employ the teacher, and the district certifies that the teacher’s evaluation is at the effective level.
Visiting Scholar LicenseYes991Visiting Scholar License is renewed by meeting the same requirements as needed for the first application. Applicant must submit documentation of continuing support of the base criteria and professional development activities.

Emergency and temporary credentials

Emergency credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Career and Technical Education (CTE) Specialized CertificateYes3Yes8-12
Interim Alternative LicenseNo1YesK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Limited Elementary Residency LicenseYes2YesK-6
Limited Residency LicenseYes2NoK-6, 6-12
Limited Teacher Apprentice Program License (LTAP)Yes2NoK-6
Limited Use LicenseYes1Yes6-12
One Year Nonrenewable LicenseNo1NoK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Restricted LicenseNo1Yes5-8, 6-12
Restricted Technical CertificateYes2Yes9-12
STEM LicenseYes1Yes8-12
Transitional LicenseNo1NoK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Visiting International TeacherYes1YesPK-6, 5-8, 6-12
Visiting Scholar LicenseYes1Yes6-12

Out-of-state teachers

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Kansas. Ask Kansas State Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.

Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 461.

Alternative routes

About Kansas certification

Traditionally, Kansas has had a strong system of public education. The State Constitution acknowledges the responsibility of the state to provide a uniform system of common schools and schools of higher grades to ensure its social and economic well-being. In 1973, the Kansas Supreme Court determined that the State Board of Education had “self-executing powers,” which gave it the power to adopt rules, regulations, and policies concerning how schools are accredited, how teachers are licensed, minimum high school graduation requirements, and similar matters. This framework for educational supervision remains today. The Kansas State Board of Education approves the procedures and regulations governing accreditation of educator preparation providers, the approval of educator preparation programs, and the issuance of educator licenses in Kansas.

Accreditation of Educator Preparation Programs

In Kansas, the accreditation process examines each professional education unit, each Educator Preparation Provider (EPP). The program approval process focuses on specific content areas that lead to licensure. After an educator preparation provider is accredited and programs are approved, completers are eligible to be licensed to teach in Kansas elementary or secondary schools provided the applicant meets the established regulatory requirements. Today, Kansas has twenty-four accredited colleges and universities, plus one consortium, with 423 state approved educator preparation programs.

In 1988 Kansas entered into a partnership agreement with the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and has been conducting joint accreditation visits since that time. A partnership agreement with the successor accreditation body, Council of Accreditation for Educator Preparation (CAEP), was established in 2013 and was renewed in 2021. Seventeen of the twenty-four Kansas accredited institutions of higher education also hold CAEP accreditation. In July 2017 the Kansas State Board of Education approved regulations adopting the CAEP standards as the Kansas accreditation standards.

Educator Preparation and Licensure

The Kansas Vision is that Kansas leads the world in the success of each student. A college degree became the requirement for a teaching certificate in 1959. Today an applicant for an initial license must hold a baccalaureate degree with a content major, complete an approved educator preparation program at an accredited institution, and pass required licensure examinations in pedagogy and content. . Preparation program content standards for teachers, administrators and school support personnel are being revised on a 10-year cycle, with 5 of the 46 sets of standards in final review and an additional 10 sets currently under revision. One additional license area is in the regulations creation process.

Licenses are issued at the following levels: early childhood (birth to kindergarten and birth to grade 3), elementary (K-6), middle (5-8), secondary (6-12), and all level (PreK-12). Regulations require a preservice candidate work sample to be completed as part of an initial program. License renewal requirements are based on additional college courses and/or professional development.

Substitute teachers in Kansas must also be licensed. A substitute teaching license may be issued to any applicant who has a baccalaureate degree and has completed a state-approved teacher education program. A person holding a substitute-teaching license may not teach more than 90 days in the same assignment. Kansas also issues Emergency Substitute Licenses for individuals with a minimum of 60 semester credit hours from a regionally accredited college or university. Beginning in 2022-2023, emergency substitute applicants were allowed to use successful completion of Greenbush Service Center training modules in lieu of 60 credit hours. Emergency Substitute license has limitations on the number of days the individual can spend in any one assignment.

Kansas educator preparation programs are built upon an outcomes-based design that demands teacher candidates demonstrate what they know and what they are able to do. Data inform the decisions made in the programs. Licenses are issued on a continuum of three phases that reflect the educator's progress from novice educator to accomplished practitioner. It is believed this system ensures the continuing strength of the Kansas public education system. The expectation continues to be one of improving the teaching and learning of children in all schools regardless of geographic location. In 2010, the Kansas State Board of Education adopted the Kansas College and Career Ready Standards for K-12 schools and has established equally high standards for the educators who will be working with those children. The newest Kansas initiatives continue to drive and support our high standards for education in our state.

Moving Forward

Kansas Education Systems Accreditation, or KESA, is a K-12 accreditation model approved by the Kansas State Board of Education in June of 2016. KESA officially began with the 2017-2018 school year. The KESA framework employs a systems approach to school improvement, accrediting systems instead of schools. It requires systems (Unified School Districts and accredited private schools) to engage in a transparent, data-based school improvement process.

Beginning in the 2024-2025 school year the Kansas State Department of Education will launch KESA 2.0. This new accreditation framework will continue maintain a focus on data-based school improvement, with an increased emphasis on four “fundamental” components of school improvement that form the basis for student achievement.

KSDE continues to address teacher vacancy and supply issues. The Commissioner of Education's Blue Ribbon Task Force established the Teacher Vacancy and Supply Committee as a standing committee of Teacher Licensure and Accreditation, to monitor teacher vacancy and supply data and report on the status of recruitment and retention efforts across the state.

In 2018-2019 and 2019-2020, the State Board of Education piloted two new alternative licensure pathways in Elementary Education and High Incidence Special Education. The pilots, developed and approved by the Kansas State Board of Education in response to recommendations by the Teacher Vacancy and Supply Committee, allowed higher ed institutions to use their current approved Elementary Education and High Incidence Special Education programs to train individuals with a Bachelor’s degree and who were recommended by school districts, and for the High Incidence Special Education Pilot who had at least one year of experience as a Special Education paraprofessional, through a Limited Residency process. Limited Residency Pilot candidates completed a supervised field experience in the first semester, and if successful were issued a Limited Residency License for the second semester, in which they could be hired as an Elementary or SPED teacher, respectively, while completing the program coursework within two years (including the coursework taken before being issued the Limited Residency License). The first pilot cohorts entered programs in Fall 2018. In 2020, the State Board approved the Limited Apprentice License for High incidence. The Elementary Limited Apprentice License (LAL) pilot was not renewed. A new Limited Elementary Residency Program (LERP) license was created in Fall 2023. In the 2024-2025 academic year the Limited Residency License for Special Education was expanded to support both High and Low Incidence.

The WSU TAP program routes to the LTAP license for Early Childhood Unified and Elementary Education.

Residency programs

In 2022-2023 KSDE hired a coordinator to build, develop, and implement a federal registered teacher apprenticeship program. KSDE registered federal apprenticeship approved by the Kansas Office of Apprenticeship in May 2023 for piloting in Fall 2023. The program was piloted for the 2023-2024 academic year. The first full statewide cohort was in the 2024-2025 academic year.

How to become a teacher in KansasKansas teacher preparation providers

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a teaching certificate in Kansas?

Kansas reports 17 credentials to Title II, 10 of them initial. 7 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 1 require a preparation program and 1 require tests. Apply through Kansas State Department of Education.

How do I verify a teaching license in Kansas?

Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Kansas State Department of Education. PT3 does not verify licenses.

Can I renew a Kansas teaching certificate?

13 of 17 Kansas credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.

Does Kansas issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?

Yes. Title II lists 13: Career and Technical Education (CTE) Specialized Certificate; Interim Alternative License; Limited Elementary Residency License; Limited Residency License; Limited Teacher Apprentice Program License (LTAP).

Can I teach in Kansas with an out-of-state license?

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Kansas. Ask Kansas State Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.

Is there alternative teacher certification in Kansas?

Yes. Kansas reports 4 alternative routes to Title II.