Kentucky alternative route
Option 4: Adjunct Instructor Certification
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Kentucky Department of Education - Office of Educator Licensure and Certification.
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 99
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | No |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | No |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Grade or subject limits
This is a one year certificate and does not lead to full certification.
Shortage design
Yes. This certificate is a temporary, part-time program for a person with expertise in a specific area.
Credential issued
Yes, a one year certificate.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.
Other routes in Kentucky
- Option 1: Exceptional Work Experience Certificate
- Option 2: Local District Training Program
- Option 3: College Faculty Certification
- Option 5: Veterans of the Armed Services (Troops to Teachers)
- Option 6: University-based Alternative Certification
- Option 7: Institute-based Alternative Certification
- Option 8: Teach for America (TFA) Alternative Route to Certification
- Option 9 - Expedited Route
- Proficiency Evaluation