Kentucky alternative route
Option 2: Local District Training Program
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Kentucky Department of Education - Office of Educator Licensure and Certification.
- Run by
- State, School district, Other
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
Yes. Candidate will receive a one-year Provisional Internship Certificate and participates in KY Teacher Internship Program (KTIP).
Clinical experience
Certificate and participates in KTIP. Upon successful completion of the internship program, the candidate receives a Professional Certificate.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.
Other routes in Kentucky
- Option 1: Exceptional Work Experience Certificate
- Option 3: College Faculty Certification
- Option 4: Adjunct Instructor Certification
- Option 5: Veterans of the Armed Services (Troops to Teachers)
- Option 6: University-based Alternative Certification
- Option 7: Institute-based Alternative Certification
- Option 8: Teach for America (TFA) Alternative Route to Certification
- Option 9 - Expedited Route
- Proficiency Evaluation