Kentucky alternative route
Option 1: Exceptional Work Experience Certificate
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Kentucky Department of Education - Office of Educator Licensure and Certification.
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | No |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | No |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
Statement of Eligibility to gain Provisional Internship Certificate when employment is confirmed by district
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.
Other routes in Kentucky
- Option 2: Local District Training Program
- Option 3: College Faculty Certification
- Option 4: Adjunct Instructor Certification
- Option 5: Veterans of the Armed Services (Troops to Teachers)
- Option 6: University-based Alternative Certification
- Option 7: Institute-based Alternative Certification
- Option 8: Teach for America (TFA) Alternative Route to Certification
- Option 9 - Expedited Route
- Proficiency Evaluation