Iowa alternative route
Regents Alternative Pathway to Iowa Licensure
- Run by
- College or university, Other
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 2
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Grade or subject limits
grades 7-12, preferably shortage areas
Shortage design
It is designed to address the shortage areas, but it is not limited to just shortage areas.
Credential issued
The term of the teacher intern license will be one year from the date of issuance.
Clinical experience
Sixty contact hours of field work are required and evaluated by host teachers. Twenty-eight of the sixty hours are evaluated by program evaluators, outside the district, and based on Iowa Teaching Standard criteria, as used to evaluate beginning teachers in Iowa schools.
Other requirements
Successful interview based on Star Teacher (Haberman) instrument, successful completion of oral/written communication, use of technology for teaching, successful demonstration of teacher dispositions, successful demonstration of ability to conduct research and make conclusions from it, pass state required program completion tests for endorsement area they will teach in for the internship, evidence of growth and potential for success with all Iowa Teaching Standards.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Iowa State University Traditional
- University of Iowa Traditional
- University of Northern Iowa Traditional