Iowa alternative route
Morningside College Teacher Intern Program
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Iowa Department of Education.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
This option is limited to secondary education. We actively seek people who are endorsable in teacher shortage areas and discourage those who are not.
Credential issued
The term of the teacher intern license will be one year from the date of issuance.
Clinical experience
50 hours of practicum experience (25 each semester) in diverse secondary school placements in candidate’s content area.
Other requirements
Completion of the equivalent of 28 hours of undergraduate teacher preparation coursework, delivered in an alternative format (weekend programming, weekend seminars, summer completion of courses), a full-year paid teaching internship (or 14 weeks of student teaching if one cannot be secured).
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Morningside University Alternative, IHE-based