Skip to content
PT3

IA certification

Iowa teacher certification

Iowa reports 11 teaching credentials and 2 alternative routes to Title II, and licensed 2,079 new teachers in the latest year.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Iowa Department of Education.

Teaching credentials in Iowa

Each row is a credential Iowa reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.

Iowa credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Career and TechnicalYes5Yes5-12
Class ANo1NoK-6, 5-8, 5-12
Class BNo2NoK-6, 5-8, 5-12
Class ENo1NoK-8, 5-8, 5-12
Class GYes1NoK-8, 5-12
ExchangeYes2NoK-6, 5-12
InitialYes2YesK-6, 5-12
Master EducatorNo5YesK-6, 5-12
Standard LicenseNo5YesK-6, 5-12
Teacher InternYes1No7-12
Temporary LicenseNo2NoPK-12, 5-12, 5-12

Requirements

Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.

CredentialBachelor'sMaster'sEducation degreePrep programTestsPerformance assessmentClinicalCourseworkCredit hoursMin. GPATranscriptsEmploymentMentoringRecencyBackground checkFingerprintPolice check
Career and TechnicalNoNoNoNoNoYesNoYesYesNoNoYesYesNoYesYesYes
Class AYesNoNoYesNoNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoNoNoNoNo
Class BYesNoNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoNoNoNo
Class EYesNoNoYesNoNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoNoNoNoNo
Class GYesNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoNoYesYesNoYesYesYes
ExchangeYesNoNoYesYesNoYesYesNoNoYesNoNoYesYesYesYes
InitialYesNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoNoYesNoYesNoYesYesYes
Master EducatorYesYesNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesNoYesYesNoYes
Standard LicenseYesNoNoYesNoNoNoYesNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoYes
Teacher InternYesNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoNoYesYesYesNoYesYesYes
Temporary LicenseYesNoNoYesYesNoYesNoNoNoNoYesYesNoYesYesYes

Verify a teaching license in Iowa

Teaching licenses in Iowa are verified on the lookup service run by Iowa Department of Education. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.

PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.

Renewal

Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.

Renewal
CredentialRenewableRenew timesRenewal yearsDetails
Career and TechnicalYes305Six credits, completed during the term of the license (after issue date and before expiration date), are required to renew the Career and Technical License - submit official transcripts of credits earned. Acceptable renewal credits include any combination of the following list, but have to be taken within the term of the license: 1. Credit(s) completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which add greater depth/breadth to present endorsement held. 2. Credit(s) completed from a regionally accredited institution, which lead toward the completion of a planned master’s, specialist’s, or doctor’s degree program in an endorsement area. 3. Credit(s) completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which lead to completion of requirements for an endorsement not currently held. 4. Credit(s) completed through Iowa licensure renewal courses or activities approved through guidelines established by the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners; in other words, AEA licensure renewal courses.
Class ANoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Class BNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Class ENoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Class GNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ExchangeNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
InitialYes22The completion of the child and dependent adult abuse. The second time it is renewed, the person must have proof of employment.
Master EducatorYes305Four units are needed for renewal. These units may be earned in any combination listed below: a. One unit may be earned for each semester hour of graduate credit, completed from a regionally accredited institution, which leads toward the completion of a planned master’s, specialist’s, or doctor’s degree program. b. One unit may be earned for each semester hour of graduate or undergraduate credit, completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which adds greater depth/breadth to present endorsements held. c. One unit may be earned for each semester hour of credit, completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which leads to completion of requirements for an endorsement not currently held. d. One unit may be earned upon completion of each licensure renewal course or activity approved through guidelines established by the board of educational examiners. e. Four units may be earned upon successful completion of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification. This certification may be used one time for either the standard or master educator license. Four units may also be earned for each National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification renewal and may be used toward the subsequent renewal of either the standard or master educator license. f. One unit may be earned upon the successful completion of an individualized professional development plan as verified by the supervising licensed evaluator.
Standard LicenseYes305Six units are needed for renewal. These units may be earned in any combination listed as follows: a. One unit may be earned for each semester hour of graduate credit, completed from a regionally accredited institution, which leads toward the completion of a planned master’s, specialist’s, or doctor’s degree program. b. One unit may be earned for each semester hour of graduate or undergraduate credit, completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which adds greater depth/breadth to present endorsements held. c. One unit may be earned for each semester hour of credit, completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which leads to completion of requirements for an endorsement not currently held. d. One unit may be earned upon completion of each licensure renewal course or activity approved through guidelines established by the board of educational examiners. e. Four units may be earned for successful completion of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification. This certification may be used one time for either the standard or master educator license. Four units may also be earned for each National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification renewal and may be used toward the subsequent renewal of either the standard or master educator license. f. One unit may be earned upon the successful completion of an individualized professional development plan as verified by the supervising licensed evaluator. include any combination of the following list, but have to be taken within the term of the license: 1. Credit(s) completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which add greater depth/breadth to present endorsement held. 2. Credit(s) completed from a regionally accredited institution, which lead toward the completion of a planned master’s, specialist’s, or doctoral degree program in an endorsement area. 3. Credit(s) completed from a regionally accredited institution, which may not lead to a degree but which lead to completion of requirements for an endorsement not currently held. 4. Credit(s) completed through Iowa licensure renewal courses or activities approved through guidelines established by the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners; in other words, Area Education Agency licensure renewal courses. 5. Four credits may be earned for achievement of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification. Please send a copy of the certificate to the Board of Educational Examiners. 6. One unit may be earned upon successful acquisition of three points from the following activities: (1) Mentoring a full-semester student teacher (12 or more weeks) is worth two points. (2) Mentoring a half-semester student teacher (less than 12 weeks) is worth one point. (3) Mentoring a practicum student or practicum students (early field experience) equivalent to 60 contact hours (hours may be accrued over several semesters) is worth one point. (4) Attending (from start to finish) a cooperating teachers’ workshop in conjunction with mentoring a student teacher or practicum student is worth one point. (5) Serving as a multiyear member of a teacher education program’s advisory committee is worth one point.
Teacher InternNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Temporary LicenseNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Emergency and temporary credentials

Emergency credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Class ANo1NoK-6, 5-8, 5-12
Class BNo2NoK-6, 5-8, 5-12
Class ENo1NoK-8, 5-8, 5-12
Class GYes1NoK-8, 5-12
ExchangeYes2NoK-6, 5-12
Temporary LicenseNo2NoPK-12, 5-12, 5-12

Out-of-state teachers

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Iowa. Ask Iowa Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.

Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 399.

Alternative routes

About Iowa certification

Iowa is committed to ensuring that teachers are well prepared and that the approval process for educator preparation programs offered through colleges and universities is rigorous.

Iowa mandates that all teachers in state-approved schools possess a valid license corresponding to their teaching area(s). New teachers can only be recommended for initial licensure after fulfilling a comprehensive set of requirements based on the Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC) Standards, Iowa Core Standards, Iowa State Board of Education Program Standards and Iowa Teaching Standards. These standards and guidance for meeting standards for both traditional and alternative preparation programs are regularly reviewed and updated.

Due to the rigorous completion requirements of these programs, the Board of Educational Examiners does not require a licensure exam for candidates who have completed Iowa-approved preparation programs. Instead, program completers who fulfill all requirements are recommended to the Board of Educational Examiners for an initial teaching license. After two or three years of successful teaching, evaluations aligned to the Iowa teaching standards, and completion of a novice teacher mentoring program these candidates may then be recommended for a Standard License. Additionally, those who meet the state's requirements for experience and graduate-level education may obtain a Master Educator's License.

A reading competency exam is required for candidates earning endorsements in elementary education, early childhood, reading, early childhood special education and K-8 special education. While candidates are not required to pass the assessment for licensure purposes, the programs are required to provide remediation and report passage rates annually.

Iowa approved preparation programs submit annual reports that include candidate information such as areas of endorsement, innovations, and targeted areas for improvement. The education department team analyzes the data submitted through these annual reports, comparing the reported figures for consistency and verifying the accuracy of the reported numbers of program completers.

Additionally, the State Educator Quality Team conducts a thorough review of each program on a seven-year cycle to maintain high standards in educator preparation.

How to become a teacher in IowaIowa teacher preparation providers

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a teaching certificate in Iowa?

Iowa reports 11 credentials to Title II, 5 of them initial. 4 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 3 require a preparation program and 1 require tests. Apply through Iowa Department of Education.

How do I verify a teaching license in Iowa?

Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Iowa Department of Education. PT3 does not verify licenses.

Can I renew a Iowa teaching certificate?

4 of 11 Iowa credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.

Does Iowa issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?

Yes. Title II lists 6: Class A; Class B; Class E; Class G; Exchange.

Can I teach in Iowa with an out-of-state license?

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Iowa. Ask Iowa Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.

Is there alternative teacher certification in Iowa?

Yes. Iowa reports 2 alternative routes to Title II.