Florida alternative route
Educator Preparation Institutes
- Run by
- College or university, Private organization
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 99
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
A teaching license is not required for participation in an Educator Preparation Institute, although some individuals who hold a Florida Temporary Certificate are enrolled in Educator Preparation Institutes.Only individuals who are employed in a Florida public school district who are also enrolled in the EPI program are issued a teaching license - Florida Temporary Certificate. For all other individuals who are enrolled in these programs, an Official Statement of Status of Eligibility issued by the Florida Bureau of Educator Certification is required indicating that the individual has met subject matter specialization requirements for the area in which he or she wishes to teach and be prepared in. Although the "Statement of Status of Eligibility" is not a teaching license, it does indicate if an individual has met minimum eligibility requirements for the issuance of a Temporary teaching certificate in Florida.
Clinical experience
The field experience placement and grade level is dependent upon the individual’s educational plan which is based on the "Official Statement of Status of Eligibility," a state-issued document that is produced as a result of an evaluation of an individual's application, official college transcript(s) and results of Florida Teacher Certification Examinations, if taken by the individual. Field experiences must be relevant to the subject area in which the individual is seeking certification. Required number of hours for the field experience is not specified in statute or rule. Individuals must satisfactorily demonstrate the Florida Educator Accomplished Practices in a classroom setting in order to successfully complete this program.
Other requirements
To complete an Educator Preparation Institute, the participant must be eligible for a Temporary Certificate, demonstrate all Florida Educator Accomplished Practices and Professional Education Competencies and Skills, and pass all three Florida Teacher Certification Examinations -- General Knowledge Test, Professional Education Test and the appropriate Subject Area Examination(s).
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Broward College Alternative, IHE-based
- Daytona State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Eastern Florida State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Florida Gateway College Alternative, IHE-based
- Florida Gulf Coast University Alternative, IHE-based
- Florida State College at Jacksonville Alternative, IHE-based
- Hillsborough Community College Alternative, IHE-based
- Indian River State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Miami Dade College Alternative, IHE-based
- Palm Beach State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Pasco Hernando State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Polk State College Alternative, IHE-based
- Santa Fe College Alternative, IHE-based
- Seminole State College Alternative, IHE-based
- St. Johns River State College Alternative, IHE-based
- St. Petersburg College Alternative, IHE-based
- State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Arizona Global Campus Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Florida Alternative, IHE-based
- University of West Florida Alternative, IHE-based
- Valencia College Alternative, IHE-based