Florida alternative route
Professional Learning Certification Programs
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Florida Department of Education.
- Run by
- State, School district, Other
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
The individual participating in a professional learning certification program (formerly titled district alternative certification program) must hold a Temporary Certificate and be employed in a Florida public school district.
Clinical experience
On the job teaching experience is used in lieu of a supervised clinical experience.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.