Oklahoma alternative route
Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Grade or subject limits
Credentials issued as a result of completion of the Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program allow applicants to teach at the secondary grade level (Grades 6-12) or at the elementary-secondary level (Grades PK-12) or to teach career technology courses (Grades 6-12).
Shortage design
Although there are more allowable certification areas today, the program was designed primarily to address shortages in the fields of mathematics, science, and foreign language.
Credential issued
A alternative certificate is granted to an applicant after the applicant has completed the two phases of the process: the admission phase and the testing phase.
Other requirements
Applicants must have a minimum of a 2.5 GPA if the applicant has only a baccalaureate degree with no post-baccalaureate coursework. 2.5 GPA is waived with 2 yrs experience in the area of certification they are seeking.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.