Skip to content
PT3

Oklahoma alternative route

Career Development Program for Paraprofessionals

Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Office of Educational Quality and Accountability.
Run by
State
Teach while completing
Yes
Max years to complete
3
Website
Visit

Requirements

Bachelor's degreeYes
Bachelor's in the subjectNo
Pedagogy courseworkYes
Credit hoursYes
Minimum GPANo
TestsYes
Employment as a teacherNo
Clinical experienceNo
Professional developmentYes
MentoringNo
Service requirementNo
High-need schoolsNot reported
Shortage areasNot reported
Limited to some grades or subjectsYes
Designed for shortage areasYes

Grade or subject limits

Limited to Elementary Ed, Early Childhood and Special Education (PK-12)

Shortage design

Critical shortage areas in Oklahoma include Elementary Ed, Early Childhood and Special Education

Credential issued

Upon completion of one year serving as a paraprofessional and passing the 3 certification examinations, the candidate is issued a 3 year credential.

Other requirements

Within three years, complete 12 semester hours of professional education coursework from an accredited institution of higher education which has an accredited program related to the certificate area sought. The 12 semester hours must include a minimum of 3 semester hours in reading instruction from a higher education program accredited by the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability. Please consult with the Oklahoma college of your choice regarding acceptable courses to fulfill this requirement.

Within three years, successfully complete at least one full school year of teaching service in a public or private school accredited by the State Board of Education or a private school accrediting organization approved by the Board and receive a favorable recommendation from that school. The school recommendation should come from the school principal or district superintendent and the college recommendation/college credit verification should come from the chair or director of the accredited teacher preparation program in which you completed the coursework requirements.

You must also provide a favorable recommendation or verification that you have completed your 12 semester hours from an Oklahoma college.

Linked teacher preparation providers

Title II links no providers to this route.

Other routes in Oklahoma