Ohio alternative route
Alternative Resident Educator Institute
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Ohio Department of Higher Education.
- Run by
- College or university, Private organization
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 2
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
All area excluding Early Childhood education.
Credential issued
Alternative Resident Educator License
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Bluffton University Traditional
- Shawnee State University Traditional
- The Ohio State University Traditional