North Carolina alternative route
Lateral Entry
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
Participants are issued a three year lateral entry provisional professional educator's license. When the individual completes the required coursework prescribed by the IHE/RALC and satisfies professional educator's licensure testing requirements, he/she is recommended for professional educator's licensure by the IHE/RALC. This recommendation is sent to the NC Department of Public Instruction where it is evaluated and if the individual has met all their requirements, they are issued a Initial or Continuing Professional License.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.