North Carolina alternative route
Career and Technical Education
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | No |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Not reported |
| Pedagogy coursework | No |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | No |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
The grade levels for this license type is 6-12. Subject areas are specific.
Credential issued
CTE is a license type.
Other requirements
This license type is based on work experience.
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.