Skip to content
PT3

DC certification

District of Columbia teacher certification

District of Columbia reports 3 teaching credentials and 1 alternative route to Title II, and licensed 1,777 new teachers in the latest year.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

Teaching credentials in District of Columbia

Each row is a credential District of Columbia reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.

District of Columbia credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Initial CredentialYes3No1-6, 4-8, 7-12
One-Year Provisional CredentialYes1No1-6, 4-8, 7-12
Standard CredentialNo4Yes1-6, 4-8, 7-12

Requirements

Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.

CredentialBachelor'sMaster'sEducation degreePrep programTestsPerformance assessmentClinicalCourseworkCredit hoursMin. GPATranscriptsEmploymentMentoringRecencyBackground checkFingerprintPolice check
Initial CredentialYesNoNoNoYesNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoNoYesYesNo
One-Year Provisional CredentialYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesYesYesNoNoYesYesNo
Standard CredentialYesNoNoNoYesNoNoNoNoYesYesNoNoNoYesYesNo

Verify a teaching license in District of Columbia

Teaching licenses in District of Columbia are verified on the lookup service run by Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE). Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.

PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.

Renewal

Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.

Renewal
CredentialRenewableRenew timesRenewal yearsDetails
Initial CredentialNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
One-Year Provisional CredentialNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Standard CredentialYes204Option 1: To renew a Standard Teacher credential in DC, applicants must submit evidence of eight (8) semester hours or 120 contact hours (or a combination of the two) of professional development activities completed within the four (4) years prior to the date of the licensure application submission as outlined below. A minimum of four (4) semester hours/60 clock hours of the professional development activities must be directly related to the field (subject content) of the license being renewed. The remaining required four (4) semester hours/60 clock hours may include any professional development activity relevant to Pre-K - 12 education and/or serving Pre-K - 12 students. Option 2: Applicants from DC LEAs that administer OSSE-approved educator evaluation systems can submit evidence of effective performance evaluations for educator credentialing purposes. Currently the DC Public Schools (DCPS) agency is the only DC LEA that administers an official educator evaluation system that is accepted by OSSE for credential renewal purposes. Credential holders seeking renewal who have been evaluated under any performance rating system within the District of Columbia, other than the DCPS teacher evaluation system, must meet the conditions for either the Professional Learning Units or Test Scores option to renew their credential. When submitting performance ratings, the following applies: o The performance reviews must have been administered using the DCPS Impact Rating System within the previous four years of the date the renewal application is submitted. o The performance reviews must have been administered while the applicant was an employee within DCPS with an assignment in the same subject area of the credential being renewed. o The applicant must have achieved at least an effective or higher final rating for the summative portion of the evaluation achieved for any combination of three of the previous four years of the date the renewal application is submitted. o Submit the applicant's final DCPS Impact score report for each applicable school year. Option 3: Test Scores: Applicants may submit passing scores for the Praxis II subject content exam in the specific licensure area of the credential being renewed and/or reinstated. The basic skills and pedagogy exam components are not required for this renewal option.

Emergency and temporary credentials

Emergency credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
One-Year Provisional CredentialYes1No1-6, 4-8, 7-12

Out-of-state teachers

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for District of Columbia. Ask Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) how it reviews licenses from other states.

Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 360.

Alternative routes

About District of Columbia certification

The Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) is the designated state education agency, and the State Superintendent is the designated Chief State School Officer for the District of Columbia (DC). OSSE is located at 1050 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002.

Completion of the 2023-2024 Title II HEA State Teacher Report Card is a collaborative effort between OSSE, the Educational Testing Service (ETS), and the approved educator preparation providers (EPPs) that operate in DC. This report is the culmination of two years of data collection and reporting. In the spring of 2024, EPPs submitted information on their candidate pipelines and program completers to ETS through its Title II online information system. ETS has an established cohort reporting system for its member states and DC.

OSSE completed a matrix of the testing areas and codes implemented by ETS as well as information provided by the EPPs to determine each institution’s aggregate and disaggregated pass rates on examinations that lead to an educator credential (also referred to as license or certification) in this jurisdiction. Program completers from approved EPPs are eligible for a DC educator credential upon completion of all testing and coursework requirements in each of the subject program areas.

A DC educator credential ensures that candidates meet the stipulated educational and experiential requirements in a specified subject or course of study for teaching, school administration, and/or health-based service providers. The credentialing process applies a set of sanctioned standards to determine whether a candidate meets the required competencies to earn a credential. A valid DC educator credential allows candidates access to practice in the education profession in this jurisdiction as well as the other US states and territories that participate in the interstate reciprocity agreement.

Once a candidate has demonstrated basic skills knowledge (via submission of evidence of passing test scores on the basic skills, content knowledge, and pedagogy examinations adopted by DC or an undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher, the educator credentialing process is administratively accomplished through the following pathways: (a) completion of any state-approved educator preparation program within an Institution of Higher Education (IHE) or alternate route organization or institution (AROI); (b) enforcement of interstate reciprocity rules for educators licensed in other states/jurisdictions; (c) possession of an initial DC educator credential and verification of two years full-time effective teaching conducted by an LEA and measured by summative performance evaluations directly in the proposed credentialing subject area; and/or (d) verification of two years full-time effective teaching conducted by an LEA and measured by summative performance evaluations directly in the proposed credentialing subject area.

DC participates in the National Association of State Director of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) interstate reciprocity agreement on the qualification of educational personnel. Forty-nine US states, the District of Columbia, US territories, the Department of Defense Schools, and some provinces in Canada currently participate in this agreement.

During 2023-24, there were 13 EPPs recognized by OSSE that provide training and preparation for teachers, administrators, and health-based school service providers. In DC, an EPP may operate as a traditional EPP, within or as part of an institution of higher education (IHE), or as an Alternate Route Organization or Institution (AROI), within, as part of, or independently of an IHE.

In February 2020, OSSE announced an 18-month discretionary suspension of EPP approvals and renewals pending the promulgation of new regulations. The new regulations would establish the minimum requirements that enable the operation of EPPs and subject area programs that prepare candidates eligible to earn an educator credential in the District of Columbia to teach in the District of Columbia Public Schools. On April 1, 2021, OSSE issued an Advanced Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on its website for 30 calendar days to provide stakeholders an opportunity to provide advanced comments on proposed rulemaking. On January 21, 2022, a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking was published in the D.C. Register, which included revisions based on comments received during the ANPR, for a 30-day public comment period.

On Friday, June 24, 2022, the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) finalized regulations establishing requirements for educator preparation providers and subject area programs preparing candidates to earn an educator credential in the District of Columbia. Along with establishing requirements for educator preparation providers and subject area programs, these regulations:

•Require all DC educator preparation providers and subject area programs to meet uniform, national standards;

•Establish a new needs assessment requirement that enables educator preparation providers and subject area programs to describe their recruitment and enrollment strategies to meet local education agency needs in the District;

•Ensure that all elementary, special education, reading, and early childhood subject area programs, as well as any subject area program preparing candidates with primary responsibility for literacy instruction, provide evidence that candidates are required to complete coursework and demonstrate competency in each of the five (5) components (phonemic awareness, phonics, oral reading fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension) of scientifically-based reading instruction; and

•Reinforce OSSE’s commitment to educator data transparency and accountability.

The final regulations went into effect on July 24, 2022 and are found in Subtitle A, title 5, Chapter 17 (5A DCMR § 1700, et seq.).

How to become a teacher in District of ColumbiaDistrict of Columbia teacher preparation providers

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a teaching certificate in District of Columbia?

District of Columbia reports 3 credentials to Title II, 2 of them initial. 2 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 0 require a preparation program and 1 require tests. Apply through Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

How do I verify a teaching license in District of Columbia?

Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE). PT3 does not verify licenses.

Can I renew a District of Columbia teaching certificate?

1 of 3 District of Columbia credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.

Does District of Columbia issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?

Yes. Title II lists 1: One-Year Provisional Credential.

Can I teach in District of Columbia with an out-of-state license?

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for District of Columbia. Ask Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) how it reviews licenses from other states.

Is there alternative teacher certification in District of Columbia?

Yes. District of Columbia reports 1 alternative route to Title II.