North Carolina
English/Language Arts teacher preparation programs in North Carolina
42 Title II providers in North Carolina report english/language arts programs or completers.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.
Providers
| Provider | Program types | Subject completers |
|---|---|---|
| University of North Carolina Charlotte | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 32 |
| East Carolina University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 24 |
| Appalachian State University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 20 |
| Pathway to Practice NC | Alternative, not IHE-based | 15 |
| Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools | Alternative, not IHE-based | 15 |
| Campbell University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 12 |
| Western Carolina University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 10 |
| University of North Carolina Greensboro | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 9 |
| North Carolina Teachers of Tomorrow | Alternative, not IHE-based | 8 |
| North Carolina Central University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 7 |
| North Carolina State University Raleigh | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 6 |
| University of North Carolina Chapel Hill | Traditional | 6 |
| Fayetteville State University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 5 |
| University of North Carolina Asheville | Traditional | 5 |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 5 |
| Duke University | Traditional | 4 |
| Gardner-Webb University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 4 |
| University of Mount Olive | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 4 |
| Wake Forest University | Traditional | 4 |
| Barton College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 3 |
| Elon University | Traditional | 3 |
| North Carolina A&T State University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 3 |
| University of North Carolina Pembroke | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 3 |
| Central Carolina Teaching Initiative | Alternative, not IHE-based | 3 |
| T.E.A.C.H. North Carolina | Alternative, not IHE-based | 3 |
| Chowan University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 2 |
| Guilford County Schools (Title 2 Only) | Alternative, not IHE-based | 2 |
| Winston-Salem Forsyth Teacher Residency | Alternative, not IHE-based | 2 |
| High Point University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 1 |
| Lees-McRae College | Traditional | 1 |
| Lenoir-Rhyne College | Traditional | 1 |
| Mars Hill University | Traditional | 1 |
| Meredith College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 1 |
| Salem College NC | Traditional | 1 |
| Wingate University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 1 |
| Winston-Salem State University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 1 |
| Brevard College | Traditional | 0 |
| Catawba College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 0 |
| Elizabeth City State University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 0 |
| Methodist University | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 0 |
| North Carolina Wesleyan College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 0 |
| Queens University of Charlotte | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 0 |
| Belmont Abbey College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | 0 |
| Greensboro College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | Not reported |
| Guilford College | Traditional | Not reported |
| Livingstone College | Traditional | Not reported |
| Moreland University | Alternative, IHE-based | Not reported |
| Pfeiffer College | Traditional; Alternative, IHE-based | Not reported |
| Western Governors University-NC | Traditional | Not reported |
North Carolina teacher certificationHow to become a teacher in North Carolina