Vermont alternative route
Teacher Apprenticeship Program
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Vermont Agency of Education.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 2
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
Middle Grades: English (5-9)
English as a Second Language (preK-12)
Middle Grades: Social Studies (5-9)
Business Education (5-12)
Middle Grades: Science (5-9)
Art (prek-12)
Middle Grades: Math (5-9)
Music (preK-12)
Science (7-12)
Physical Education (preK-12)
Social Studies (7-12)
Health Education (preK-12)
English (7-12)
Theatre (preK-12)
Math (7-12)
Educational Technology Specialist (preK-12)
Family and Consumer Science (5-12)
Credential issued
Upon successful completion of the program, TAP may recommend a candidate for a Level I License.
Clinical experience
Interns are onsite in clinical experience for 4.5 months. This includes a minimum 3 week solo period.
Other requirements
An application and recommendations to the program.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Champlain College Alternative, IHE-based