SD certification
South Dakota teacher certification
Teaching credentials in South Dakota
Each row is a credential South Dakota reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced Student Teacher Permit | No | 1 | No | K-8, 5-12 |
| Career and Technical Education Alternative Certification | Yes | 1 | Yes | 5-12 |
| Educator certificate | Yes | 5 | Yes | EC-8, 5-12 |
| Five Year Educator Permit | Yes | 5 | Yes | K-12, 5-12 |
| General Education alternative certificate | Yes | 1 | Yes | 5-8, 5-12 |
| Inactive Certificate | No | 5 | Yes | K-8, 5-12 |
| International Teacher Exchange Permit | Yes | 5 | No | K-8, 5-12 |
| One Year Performing Artist Educator Permit | Yes | 1 | Yes | K-8, 5-12 |
| Provisional Certificate | Yes | 1 | Yes | EC-8, 5-12 |
| Teach for America Alternative Certificate | Yes | 1 | Yes | K-8, 5-12 |
| Temporary Certificate | No | 1 | No | EC-8, 5-12 |
Requirements
Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.
| Credential | Bachelor's | Master's | Education degree | Prep program | Tests | Performance assessment | Clinical | Coursework | Credit hours | Min. GPA | Transcripts | Employment | Mentoring | Recency | Background check | Fingerprint | Police check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced Student Teacher Permit | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Career and Technical Education Alternative Certification | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Educator certificate | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Five Year Educator Permit | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| General Education alternative certificate | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Inactive Certificate | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| International Teacher Exchange Permit | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| One Year Performing Artist Educator Permit | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Provisional Certificate | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Teach for America Alternative Certificate | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Temporary Certificate | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
Verify a teaching license in South Dakota
Teaching licenses in South Dakota are verified on the lookup service run by South Dakota Department of Education. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.
PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.
Renewal
Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.
| Credential | Renewable | Renew times | Renewal years | Details |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced Student Teacher Permit | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Career and Technical Education Alternative Certification | Yes | 2 | 1 | Submit documented evidence of progress toward meeting the requirements to complete alternative certification; • Submit a recommendation for renewal from the employing school/district • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. |
| Educator certificate | Yes | 99 | 5 | * Completion of the equivalent of 6 credits within the past 5 years • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. |
| Five Year Educator Permit | Yes | 99 | 5 | Complete three education-related credits including transcripted credits, specialized learning experience hours, or continuing education contact hours. |
| General Education alternative certificate | Yes | 2 | 1 | Submit documented evidence of progress toward meeting the requirements to complete alternative certification; • Submit a recommendation for renewal from the employing school/district; and • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. |
| Inactive Certificate | Yes | 10 | 5 | fee and • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. |
| International Teacher Exchange Permit | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| One Year Performing Artist Educator Permit | Yes | 99 | 1 | Requires a minimum of .5 continuing education credits which is equal to 8 clock hours of training to renew this certificate; and • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. Complete a performing artist verification form which identifies the position to be held by the applicant and documentation the school is unable to hire a certified educator for the vacancy; recommend the applicant for renewal based on documented performance. |
| Provisional Certificate | Yes | 1 | 1 | must provide evidence of registration of required courses • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. |
| Teach for America Alternative Certificate | Yes | 2 | 1 | • Submit verification of continued eligibility for the TFA program; • Submit a recommendation for renewal from the employing school/district; and • Complete one hour of Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training is required by state statute. |
| Temporary Certificate | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Emergency and temporary credentials
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced Student Teacher Permit | No | 1 | No | K-8, 5-12 |
| Career and Technical Education Alternative Certification | Yes | 1 | Yes | 5-12 |
| International Teacher Exchange Permit | Yes | 5 | No | K-8, 5-12 |
| Provisional Certificate | Yes | 1 | Yes | EC-8, 5-12 |
| Teach for America Alternative Certificate | Yes | 1 | Yes | K-8, 5-12 |
| Temporary Certificate | No | 1 | No | EC-8, 5-12 |
Out-of-state teachers
Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for South Dakota. Ask South Dakota Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.
Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 318.
Alternative routes
- State of South Dakota Alternative Route to Certification (teach while completing)
About South Dakota certification
The SD Department of Education has a vision where the department 1) supports local educators, 2) invests in talent development, 3) fosters research and innovation, 4) supports the whole learner, and 5) reinvents
accountability.
To achieve our vision, we defined the four strategic directions we will move in. They are: Maximizing and Building
Relationships, Achieving Effectiveness, Championing Excellence, and Cultivating Our Professional Culture.
How to become a teacher in South DakotaSouth Dakota teacher preparation providers
Frequently asked questions
How do I get a teaching certificate in South Dakota?
South Dakota reports 11 credentials to Title II, 8 of them initial. 4 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 3 require a preparation program and 4 require tests. Apply through South Dakota Department of Education.
How do I verify a teaching license in South Dakota?
Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by South Dakota Department of Education. PT3 does not verify licenses.
Can I renew a South Dakota teaching certificate?
8 of 11 South Dakota credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.
Does South Dakota issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?
Yes. Title II lists 6: Advanced Student Teacher Permit; Career and Technical Education Alternative Certification; International Teacher Exchange Permit; Provisional Certificate; Teach for America Alternative Certificate.
Can I teach in South Dakota with an out-of-state license?
Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for South Dakota. Ask South Dakota Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.
Is there alternative teacher certification in South Dakota?
Yes. South Dakota reports 1 alternative route to Title II.