Skip to content
PT3

RI certification

Rhode Island teacher certification

Rhode Island reports 8 teaching credentials and 2 alternative routes to Title II, and licensed 930 new teachers in the latest year.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Rhode Island Department of Education.

Teaching credentials in Rhode Island

Each row is a credential Rhode Island reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.

Rhode Island credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Advanced CertificateNo7Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Alternative certification program certificateNo1Yes1-6, 7-12
Career and Technical Education Preliminary CertificateNo3Yes7-12
Emergency PermitNo1Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Expert Residency Preliminary CertificateNo1Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Five Year Professional CertificateNo5Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Temporary InitialNo1No1-6, 5-9, 7-12
Three Year Initial CertificateYes3Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12

Requirements

Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.

CredentialBachelor'sMaster'sEducation degreePrep programTestsPerformance assessmentClinicalCourseworkCredit hoursMin. GPATranscriptsEmploymentMentoringRecencyBackground checkFingerprintPolice check
Advanced CertificateYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesNoNo
Alternative certification program certificateYesNoNoYesYesNoYesNoNoYesNoYesNoNoNoNoNo
Career and Technical Education Preliminary CertificateNoNoNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNo
Emergency PermitYesNoNoNoYesNoNoYesYesNoYesYesNoNoNoNoNo
Expert Residency Preliminary CertificateYesNoNoNoYesNoNoNoNoNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNo
Five Year Professional CertificateYesNoNoNoYesNoYesYesYesNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNo
Temporary InitialYesNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Three Year Initial CertificateYesNoNoNoYesNoYesYesYesNoYesNoNoNoNoNoNo

Verify a teaching license in Rhode Island

Teaching licenses in Rhode Island are verified on the lookup service run by Rhode Island Department of Education. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.

PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.

Renewal

Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.

Renewal
CredentialRenewableRenew timesRenewal yearsDetails
Advanced CertificateYes107Completing the required Professional Learning Units (PLUs) and achieving an additional Aspirational Benchmark.
Alternative certification program certificateYes11Candidates must show progress toward meeting full certification, but the program has determined an additional year is needed.
Career and Technical Education Preliminary CertificateYes14completion of college credits and recommendation from the employing agency for renewal
Emergency PermitYes316 credits towards full certification
Expert Residency Preliminary CertificateYes41Renewal requirements change at each point of renewal. 1st Renewal is contingent upon: Recommendation for renewal by a local education agency. Evidence of enrolling in an appropriate program or the development of a program of study. 2nd and 3rd Renewals require: Evidence of progress with a minimum of 6 credits in an appropriate program or the development of a program of study. Recommendation for renewal by a representative within an educator preparation program or program of study. Recommendation for renewal by a local education agency.
Five Year Professional CertificateYes995If an educator works during the term of a Five Year Professional Certificate, they renew their certificate by providing an evaluation rating from a state approved local evaluation system for each year that is worked. Educators who have worked for five years and provide evidence of at least one rating of Developing or Higher advance to a Five Year Professional certificate. An educator who does not work or does not receive evaluation ratings from a state approved local evaluation ratings does not need to meet renewal requirements and renews for an additional Five Year Professional certificate.
Temporary InitialNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Three Year Initial CertificateYes993If an educator works during the term of a three year Initial Certificate, they renew their certificate by providing an evaluation rating from a state approved local evaluation system for each year that is worked. Educators who have worked for three years and provide evidence of at least one rating of Developing or Higher advance to a Five Year Professional certificate. An educator who does not work or does not receive evaluation ratings from a state approved local evaluation ratings does not need to meet renewal requirements and renews for an additional Three Year Initial certificate.

Emergency and temporary credentials

Emergency credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Alternative certification program certificateNo1Yes1-6, 7-12
Career and Technical Education Preliminary CertificateNo3Yes7-12
Emergency PermitNo1Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Expert Residency Preliminary CertificateNo1Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Temporary InitialNo1No1-6, 5-9, 7-12

Out-of-state teachers

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Rhode Island. Ask Rhode Island Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.

Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 445.

Alternative routes

About Rhode Island certification

RIDE Strategic Plan for PK-12 Education, 2021 -2025" and the RI Educator Preparation Standards (2013) serve as the foundation for work related to the continuous improvement of educator preparation in Rhode Island.

RI collects and shares program completer data through the RI Educator Preparation Index. Indices specifically shares completer totals, employment information, and completer effectiveness in RI public schools.

How to become a teacher in Rhode IslandRhode Island teacher preparation providers

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a teaching certificate in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island reports 8 credentials to Title II, 1 of them initial. 1 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 0 require a preparation program and 1 require tests. Apply through Rhode Island Department of Education.

How do I verify a teaching license in Rhode Island?

Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Rhode Island Department of Education. PT3 does not verify licenses.

Can I renew a Rhode Island teaching certificate?

7 of 8 Rhode Island credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.

Does Rhode Island issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?

Yes. Title II lists 5: Alternative certification program certificate; Career and Technical Education Preliminary Certificate; Emergency Permit; Expert Residency Preliminary Certificate; Temporary Initial.

Can I teach in Rhode Island with an out-of-state license?

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Rhode Island. Ask Rhode Island Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.

Is there alternative teacher certification in Rhode Island?

Yes. Rhode Island reports 2 alternative routes to Title II.