Oregon alternative route
Restricted Teaching License
- Run by
- Other
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 3
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
The Restricted Teaching License is issued upon joint application with a school district to applicants who have not completed a teacher preparation program. It may be issued for up to three years in one-year increments. The educator must show proof of progress toward completing teacher licensure program requirements upon each renewal.
Clinical experience
All candidates must complete a commission approved preparation program that requires a supervised clinical experience.
Other requirements
The candidate must have a minimum of a bachelor's degree and be actively enrolled in a state approved educator preparation program. In addition, candidates must complete all statutory requirements (such as the civil rights and ethics test).
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.