Skip to content
PT3

ND certification

North Dakota teacher certification

North Dakota reports 4 teaching credentials and 0 alternative routes to Title II, and licensed 704 new teachers in the latest year.
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Education Standards and Practices Board.

Teaching credentials in North Dakota

Each row is a credential North Dakota reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.

North Dakota credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Alternate AccessYes3Yes1-8, 5-8, 5-12
InitialYes2No1-6, 5-8, 7-12
Other State Educator License (OSEL)Yes5Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12
RegularNo5Yes1-6, 5-8, 7-12

Requirements

Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.

CredentialBachelor'sMaster'sEducation degreePrep programTestsPerformance assessmentClinicalCourseworkCredit hoursMin. GPATranscriptsEmploymentMentoringRecencyBackground checkFingerprintPolice check
Alternate AccessYesNoNoYesNoNoYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNo
InitialYesNoNoYesYesNoYesNoYesYesYesNoNoYesYesYesYes
Other State Educator License (OSEL)YesNoYesYesNoNoYesNoYesNoYesNoNoNoYesYesYes
RegularYesNoNoYesNoNoYesNoYesYesYesYesNoYesNoNoNo

Verify a teaching license in North Dakota

Teaching licenses in North Dakota are verified on the lookup service run by Education Standards and Practices Board. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.

PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.

Renewal

Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.

Renewal
CredentialRenewableRenew timesRenewal yearsDetails
Alternate AccessYes21Evidence of progress on program of study. Completion of required Praxis Tests
InitialNoNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other State Educator License (OSEL)Yes1556 semester hours of transcript professional coursework
RegularYes305Re-education coursework

Emergency and temporary credentials

Emergency credentials
CredentialInitialYearsRenewableGrade levels
Alternate AccessYes3Yes1-8, 5-8, 5-12
InitialYes2No1-6, 5-8, 7-12

Out-of-state teachers

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for North Dakota. Ask Education Standards and Practices Board how it reviews licenses from other states.

Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 168.

Alternative routes

Title II lists no alternative route for North Dakota.

About North Dakota certification

The Education Standards and Practices Board is the professional licensing agency responsible for educator program approval, licensure, professional development and professional practices. ESPB is also responsible for the first year teacher mentoring, directed by the Teacher Support System (TSS).

How to become a teacher in North DakotaNorth Dakota teacher preparation providers

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a teaching certificate in North Dakota?

North Dakota reports 4 credentials to Title II, 3 of them initial. 3 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 3 require a preparation program and 1 require tests. Apply through Education Standards and Practices Board.

How do I verify a teaching license in North Dakota?

Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Education Standards and Practices Board. PT3 does not verify licenses.

Can I renew a North Dakota teaching certificate?

3 of 4 North Dakota credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.

Does North Dakota issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?

Yes. Title II lists 2: Alternate Access; Initial.

Can I teach in North Dakota with an out-of-state license?

Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for North Dakota. Ask Education Standards and Practices Board how it reviews licenses from other states.

Is there alternative teacher certification in North Dakota?

Title II lists no alternative route for North Dakota.