NV certification
Nevada teacher certification
Teaching credentials in Nevada
Each row is a credential Nevada reported to Title II. Initial means a first credential for a new teacher. Years is the length of validity.
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business and Industry | Yes | 3 | Yes | 6-12 |
| Conditional/Alternate Route | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-12 |
| Initial Non-Renewable/Provisional | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-8, 6-12 |
| Professional | No | 6 | Yes | EC-8, 6-8, 6-12 |
| Special | Yes | 5 | Yes | EC-12, EC-12, 7-12 |
| Special Qualifications | Yes | 3 | Yes | 6-12 |
| Standard | Yes | 5 | Yes | PK-8, 6-8, 6-12 |
Requirements
Yes means the state reports the item as required for that credential. Tests shows only whether tests are required; Title II does not name the tests.
| Credential | Bachelor's | Master's | Education degree | Prep program | Tests | Performance assessment | Clinical | Coursework | Credit hours | Min. GPA | Transcripts | Employment | Mentoring | Recency | Background check | Fingerprint | Police check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business and Industry | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Conditional/Alternate Route | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Initial Non-Renewable/Provisional | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Professional | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Special | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | No |
| Special Qualifications | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Standard | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Verify a teaching license in Nevada
Teaching licenses in Nevada are verified on the lookup service run by Nevada Department of Education. Search there by the teacher's name or certificate number to see current status.
PT3 does not verify licenses and holds no records of individual teachers.
Renewal
Renew times is how many times the credential can be renewed; renewal years is the length of each renewal.
| Credential | Renewable | Renew times | Renewal years | Details |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business and Industry | Yes | 99 | 3 | For initial renewal: Twelve semester hours of coursework, with at least three credits in each of the following: professional career and technical education, career and technical education teaching methodology, applied or work-based learning, and pupil organization and management in career and technical education. Three of these semester hours of the required twelve (12) must be earned during the first year the person was licensed. |
| Conditional/Alternate Route | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Initial Non-Renewable/Provisional | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Professional | Yes | 99 | 6 | 6 credits of college/university credit related to area of teaching or professional development credit hours equivalent |
| Special | Yes | 99 | 5 | 6 credits of college/university credit related to area of teaching or professional development credit hours equivalent |
| Special Qualifications | Yes | 99 | 3 | Evidence of professional growth in the area of endorsement during the term of the license. |
| Standard | Yes | 99 | 5 | 6 credits of college/university credit related to area of teaching or professional development credit hours equivalent |
Emergency and temporary credentials
| Credential | Initial | Years | Renewable | Grade levels |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conditional/Alternate Route | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-12 |
| Initial Non-Renewable/Provisional | Yes | 3 | No | PK-8, 6-8, 6-12 |
Out-of-state teachers
Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Nevada. Ask Nevada Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.
Newly licensed teachers prepared out of state: 1,025.
Alternative routes
- Grand Canyon University
- Great Basin College (teach while completing)
- Iteach Nevada (teach while completing)
- Nevada Teacher Corps/The New Teacher Project (teach while completing)
- Nevada Teachers of Tomorrow (teach while completing)
- University of Nevada Las Vegas
- University of Nevada, Reno
- Washoe County School District (teach while completing)
- Western Governors University
About Nevada certification
The Nevada Department of Education collaborates with the Commission on Professional Standards to oversee the approval of both traditional and alternative route teacher preparation programs. All approved programs are required to submit annual reports to the Commission.
How to become a teacher in NevadaNevada teacher preparation providers
Frequently asked questions
How do I get a teaching certificate in Nevada?
Nevada reports 7 credentials to Title II, 6 of them initial. 5 initial credentials require a bachelor's degree, 1 require a preparation program and 5 require tests. Apply through Nevada Department of Education.
How do I verify a teaching license in Nevada?
Licenses are verified on the lookup service run by Nevada Department of Education. PT3 does not verify licenses.
Can I renew a Nevada teaching certificate?
5 of 7 Nevada credentials are reported as renewable. Renewal details by credential are listed in the Renewal section.
Does Nevada issue emergency or temporary teaching certificates?
Yes. Title II lists 2: Conditional/Alternate Route; Initial Non-Renewable/Provisional.
Can I teach in Nevada with an out-of-state license?
Title II lists no separate out-of-state credential for Nevada. Ask Nevada Department of Education how it reviews licenses from other states.
Is there alternative teacher certification in Nevada?
Yes. Nevada reports 9 alternative routes to Title II.