Missouri alternative route
Alternative Professional Education Programs
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 2
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | Yes |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
Provisional
See State Board rule - 5 CSR 20-400.320 Innovative and Alternative Professional Education Programs
http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/5csr/5c20-400.pdf
http://dese.mo.gov/eq/cert/routes-to-certification.htm
http://dese.mo.gov/divteachqual/teached/altcertprog.htm
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Avila University Alternative, IHE-based
- Drury University Alternative, IHE-based
- Missouri State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Missouri Western State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Northwest Missouri State University Alternative, IHE-based
- St. Louis University Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Missouri-St. Louis Alternative, IHE-based