Louisiana alternative route
Master's Degree Program
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 4
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | Yes |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | Yes |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Grade or subject limits
The master’s degree program may be offered by state-approved colleges or universities with an approved teacher education program. Master's degree programs may offer certification in grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, all-level K-12 (art, dance, foreign language, health and physical education, music), early interventionist birth to five years, general-special education mild-moderate: an integrated to merged approach for grades 1-5, grades 4-8, and grades 6-12:
The program is not offered in Hearing Impaired, Visually Impaired or Significant Disabilities certification areas.
Credential issued
Teacher candidates pursuing master's degree programs are required to have a resident certificate prior to completing a one-year residency. However, if the individual is hired as a teacher by a Louisiana school system while enrolled in the program, a Practitioner License 3 is issued in the area of certification being pursued. Upon completion of the program, the individual is eligible for a standard Professional Level license.
Both of these certificates allow teacher candidates to complete a yearlong residency under the tutelage of an expert Mentor.
Clinical experience
Clinical experiences are required in classroom settings prior to completing a yearlong residency. The clinical experiences prior to the residency year must include a minimum of 9 credit hours or 135 contact hours of training.
Additionally, candidates must complete a yearlong residency. The one-year residency must take place in a public or approved non-public school in a classroom in the certification area. The residency must include a combination of the following experiences:
a. instructional goal-setting and planning, including IEP and IAP review and implementation;
b. classroom teaching;
c. analysis of student assessment results, including formative and summative assessment data, student work samples, and observations of student class discussions;
d. parent-teacher conferences and communication; and
e. interactions and collaboration with other teachers.
The teacher candidate must be supervised in all residency experiences by a team comprised of a school-based mentor teacher, the residency school site principal or designee, and a program faculty member. The school-based mentor must hold a level one or higher Louisiana teaching certificate, have at least two years of successful teaching experience, successfully complete a BESE approved mentor teacher training program, and pass the Louisiana teacher mentor teacher assessment series.
The teacher candidate must be mentored at least 15 percent, or five hours per week, of the school's instructional time by the school-based mentor. The mentorship must include intensive individual supports, including co-teaching, collaborative planning, and observation, and feedback sessions.
The supervision must include, at minimum, two formal observations of teaching practice per semester, which shall include feedback on performance and analysis of formative and summative student achievement results and candidate performance data. Observations may be conducted by any member of the supervision team
Other requirements
For admission to some programs, individuals are required by the university to complete the GRE.
Additionally, candidates must engage in coursework that addresses the teaching of reading and literacy. For example, nine credit hours or 135 contact hours are required for certification in PK-3, 1-5, and general-special education mild/moderate 1-5. Six credit hours or 90 contact hours are required for certification in middle grades 4-8 and general-special education mild/moderate 4-8. Three credit hours or 45 contact hours are required for certification in secondary 6-12, all-level K-12, and general-special education mild/moderate 6-12 programs.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- Centenary College Louisiana Alternative, IHE-based
- Grambling State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Louisiana Christian University Alternative, IHE-based
- Louisiana State University Baton Rouge Alternative, IHE-based
- Louisiana Tech University Alternative, IHE-based
- Loyola University LA Alternative, IHE-based
- McNeese State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Nicholls State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Northwestern State University Alternative, IHE-based
- Southeastern Louisiana University Alternative, IHE-based
- Southern University A&M College Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Louisiana Lafayette Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Louisiana Monroe Alternative, IHE-based
- University of New Orleans Alternative, IHE-based
- Xavier University LA Alternative, IHE-based