Indiana alternative route
Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Indiana Department of Education.
- Run by
- College or university
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 99
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | No |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | No |
| Clinical experience | Yes |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | No |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | No |
| Designed for shortage areas | No |
Credential issued
A Professional Educator License is issued to completers.
Clinical experience
Candidates must complete a minimum of ten (10) weeks of full-time student teaching during the later stages of the program with an effective teacher who holds a professional, proficient, practitioner, or
accomplished practitioner license.
Other requirements
Initial license applicants must provide evidence of successful completion of education and training on the prevention of child suicide and the recognition of signs that a student may be considering suicide and proof of valid CPR/AED/Heimlich certification.
Linked teacher preparation providers
- American College of Education Alternative, IHE-based
- Bethel University Alternative, IHE-based
- Earlham College Alternative, IHE-based
- Goshen College Alternative, IHE-based
- Grace College Alternative, IHE-based
- Indiana University Bloomington Alternative, IHE-based
- Indiana University South Bend Alternative, IHE-based
- Marian University Alternative, IHE-based
- Oakland City University Alternative, IHE-based
- Purdue University Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Indianapolis Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Notre Dame Alternative, IHE-based
- University of Saint Francis Alternative, IHE-based
- Valparaiso University Alternative, IHE-based