Alabama alternative route
Temporary Special Education Certificate
Credential rules change. Confirm current requirements with Alabama State Department of Education.
- Run by
- State
- Teach while completing
- Yes
- Max years to complete
- 1
- Website
- Visit
Requirements
| Bachelor's degree | Yes |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's in the subject | No |
| Pedagogy coursework | Yes |
| Credit hours | No |
| Minimum GPA | Yes |
| Tests | Yes |
| Employment as a teacher | Yes |
| Clinical experience | No |
| Professional development | No |
| Mentoring | Yes |
| Service requirement | No |
| High-need schools | Not reported |
| Shortage areas | Not reported |
| Limited to some grades or subjects | Yes |
| Designed for shortage areas | Yes |
Grade or subject limits
Grades 6-12
Shortage design
Collaborative Special Education, grades 6-12
Credential issued
Temporary Special Education Certificate
Linked teacher preparation providers
Title II links no providers to this route.